Graphic Identity of the St. Petersburg Biennale of Museum Design


Graphic Identity of St. Petersburg Biennale of Museum Design at the PRO ARTE Foundation Exhibition hall

Graphic Identity of St. Petersburg Biennale of Museum Design was developed by
Barnbrook Ltd.

From Narrative to Forma

Storytelling through objects, in a three dimensional space – this is the power of a museum in the digital age. Museums are vitally important institutions that conserve a collection of artefacts and objects with which to express historical narratives and provide platforms for discussion and debate. Design for such cultural institutions take on a multitude of forms from the micro to the macro and it is these forms which will be celebrated by the biennale.

The visual identity for Forma, the Saint Petersburg Biennale of Museum Design, sets out to celebrate design for cultural institutions as well as collections of museum objects. Drawing visual elements from a range of Saint Petersburg’s museums, the identity also aims to create a sense of place unique to this city – Russia’s museum capital.

Navigating Objects

The most distinctive navigational tool for any visitor to a museum is its floor plan. The plan provides the visitor with an opportunity to follow their own path and create new narratives in the architectural context of the institution. The graphic form of the plan provides a layout structure for Forma publicity. Contained within this layout structure are museum objects from the collections of Saint Petersburg institutions.

Pattern and Place

Shapes and patterns are drawn from Saint Petersburg’s architectural features, evoking a sense of place and history. This flexible palette of elements can be combined in myriad ways to describe the museum as a fluid, progressive institution. Juxtaposition of two colours alludes to a dialogue between object and audience, museum and public.

Text Typography

Text typography comes in two forms: headline and body copy. Headline text is set in Merkury a typeface released in 2009 by RP Digital Type Foundry, a small scale type foundry established in 2009 by Radim Peško. The foundry is focused on the development of fonts that are both formally and conceptually distinctive.

Providing a robust and energetic voice, body text is set in Skolar, released by the Rosetta type foundry. Skolar was designed with scholarly and multilingual publications in mind so provides a perfect fit for Forma.

0

Combining the Elements

The visual identity of Forma is not created with one single element but always with the combination of many elements: the floor plan grid, the museum object and the graphic pattern. This approach of playful combination expresses a message of multiple possibilities, platforms and viewpoints.

The Emergence of Forma

It was decided that the Saint Petersburg Biennale of Museum Design needed a more simple and playful epithet which would sound good in both English and Russian. During the process of design, a multitude of options were explored and discussed – early design proposals feature the prototype name Narrative. As the design process progressed, the name Forma emerged as the most suitable expression of the Biennale.

Display Typography

An eccentric display typeface is comprised of design elements which also feature in the palette of geometric patterns. Featuring a number of stylistic variants, the headline typeface allows for a multitude of compositions, expressing the many and varied voices of Saint Petersburg museums.

Posters

Throughout the design process, the poster design first emerged with playful intensity and developed through simplification of form into a composition close to that used by the Biennale today.

Final Outcomes

The objects which appear in the final posters and adverts were photographed by Saint Petersburg museums participating in the Biennale. The varied formats in which the identity expresses itself allows for constant revisiting and development, giving Forma the appearance of a flexible and evolving arts festival.

Postcard:

Biennale guide:

Графический образ Петербургской биеннале музейного дизайна


Выставка, посвященная графическому образу Биеннале музейного дизайна в Фонде ПРО АРТЕ
14.11-14.12.2014

Фирменный стиль Петербургской биеннале музейного дизайна создан лондонским дизайнерским бюро Barnbrook.

От нарратива к форме

Способность рассказать историю через предметы в трехмерном пространстве – вот в чем заключается сила музея в цифровую эпоху. Музеи остаются жизненно важными институциями; они хранят коллекции артефактов и объектов, с помощью которых можно создавать исторические нарративы, и предоставляют площадку для дискуссий. Дизайн для подобных учреждений культуры принимает мириады форм – от микро до макро. Именно эти формы окажутся в центре внимания биеннале.

Визуальная составляющая фирменного стиля для Формы – Санкт-Петербургской биеннале музейного дизайна – призвана обратить внимание на дизайн для учреждений культуры и коллекций музейных объектов. Заимствуя визуальные элементы различных петербургских музеев, авторы фирменного стиля Формы также стремятся создать ощущение уникальности этого города  – музейной столицы России.

Навигация

Самым очевидным инструментом навигации для любого посетителя музея является план его залов. План дает возможность выбирать собственный  маршрут и создавать новые нарративы в архитектурном контексте конкретного музея. Графическая форма плана сообщает печатной графике Формы схематическую структуру. Внутри этой структуры располагаются музейные объекты из коллекций петербургских музеев.

Формы и узоры

Основой для форм и узоров послужили элементы петербургской архитектуры, создающие ощущение места и истории. Гибкая палитра элементов позволяет комбинировать их самыми разными способами, чтобы описать музей как подвижное, прогрессивное заведение. Противопоставление двух цветов намекает на диалог между объектом и зрителем, музеем и его посетителями.

Оформление текста – типографика

Типографика доступна в двух формах: заголовок и основной текст. Текст заголовка набирается шрифтом Merkury (Меркьюри), разработанным в 2009 году небольшой шрифтовой мастерской RP Digital Type Foundry, основанной в том же, 2009-м, Радимом Пешко. Мастерская специализируется на разработке шрифтов, оригинальных, с ярко выраженной концепцией.

Основной текст обладает крепким и энергичным голосом – он оформлен шрифтом Scolar (Сколар), разработанным мастерской Rosetta. Сколар создавался для академических публикаций на разных языках, так что он идеально подходит для Формы.

0

Соединение элементов

Визуальный стиль Формы создается не за счет какого-то одного элемента, но всегда подразумевает соединение разных элементов: решетки этажного плана, музейного экспоната и графического узора. Подобный подход с использованием затейливой комбинации говорит о наличии различных возможностей, площадок и точек зрения.

Возникновение Формы

Было решено, что Санкт-Петербургской биеннале музейного дизайна нужно жизнерадостное, нескучное название, которое бы одинаково хорошо звучало как на русском, так и на английском языках. В процессе разработки концепции создатели перебрали и обсудили бесчисленное множество вариантов – среди предложений на начальном этапе фигурирует прототип под названием Narrative (Нарратив). В ходе разработки дизайна возникло название Форма – как наиболее подходящее для выражения сути Биеннале.

Название-логотип

Эксцентричное название-логотип включает в себя элементы, которые также фигурируют в наборе геометрических узоров. Предлагая некоторое количество стилистических вариантов, шрифт заголовков позволяет составлять самые разные композиции, помогая зазвучать многообразию голосов петербургских музеев.

Плакаты

На всем протяжении работы дизайн плакатов с самого начала задумывался как живой и энергичный; постепенное упрощение форм привело его к композиции, близкой к тому, что сегодня используется в рамках Биеннале.

Результаты

Экспонаты для окончательных вариантов плакатов и рекламных материалов были сфотографированы в петербургских музеях-участниках Биеннале. Фирменный стиль Биеннале проявляет себя в самых разных форматах, и это позволяет возвращаться к нему и развивать его. Благодаря этому Форма воспринимается как живой и постоянно развивающийся фестиваль искусств.

Открытки:

Буклет-гид:

Скачать гид по биеннале (.pdf)