St Petersburg Biennale of Museum Design2
30/09 – 30/10/2016

Daniel Libeskind

Daniel Libeskind

Biennale Educational Programme participant

Daniel Libeskind is one of the most prominent and successful architects today. He is a founder and principal architect of the Libeskind Studio (New York, USA).
An international figure in architecture and urban design, Daniel Libeskind is renowned for his ability to evoke cultural memory in buildings. Informed by a deep commitment to music, philosophy, literature, and poetry, Mr. Libeskind aims to create architecture that is resonant, unique and sustainable.

In 1989, Mr. Libeskind won the international competition to build the Jewish Museum in Berlin. He moved to Berlin and devoted more than a decade to the completion of this seminal design. A series of influential museum commissions followed. These include the Felix Nussbaum Haus in Osnabrück, the Imperial War Museum North in Manchester, the Denver Art Museum, the Contemporary Jewish Museum in San Francisco, the Danish Jewish Museum, the Royal Ontario Museum and the Military History Museum in Dresden. In 2003, Libeskind won the competition to be the master plan architect for the reconstruction of the World Trade Center in Lower Manhattan. This plan is being realized today.

Daniel Libeskind speaks widely on the art of architecture at universities and professional summits. His architecture and ideas have been the subject of many articles and exhibitions, influencing the field of architecture and the development of cities and culture.

On 19 April 2015 Daniel Libeskind delivered Language of Places lecture at the General Staff Building of the State Hermitage Museum.

Петербургская биеннале музейного дизайна2
30/09 – 30/10/2016

Daniel Libeskind

Даниэль Либескинд

Участник образовательной программы Биеннале

Даниэль Либескинд – один из самых известных и успешных архитекторов современности. Основатель и главный архитектор бюро Libeskind Studio (Нью-Йорк, США). Известный своей страстью к музыке, философии, литературе и поэзии, Даниэль Либескинд стремится создавать уникальные и резонансные проекты. Он получил признание как автор архитектуры, пробуждающей историческую и культурную память места.

В 1989 году Либескинд стал победителем международного конкурса на проектирование и строительство Еврейского музея в Берлине. Он переехал в Берлин и работал целое десятилетие над новаторским проектом музея, открытие которого состоялось в 2001 году. За этим последовали заказы на создание или реконструкцию музеев: Музея Феликса Нуссбаума в Оснабрюке (Германия), Северного имперского военного музея в Манчестере (Великобритания), Художественного музея в Денвере (США), Современного еврейского музея в Сан-Франциско (США), Датского еврейского музея в Копенгагене (Дания), Королевского музея Онтарио в Торонто (Канада), Музея военной истории в Дрездене (Германия) и др.

В 2003 году архитектурная студия Даниэля Либескинда выиграла конкурс на создание мастер-плана реконструкции площади на месте башен-«близнецов», разрушенных 11 сентября 2001 года в Нью-Йорке. Работа над проектом продолжается и сегодня.

Даниэль Либескинд активно выступает на международных конференциях и читает лекции в университетах. Его идеи и архитектура часто становятся предметом выставок и критических статей, оказывая значительное влияние на архитектуру, современное развитие городов и культуры.

19 апреля 2015 года Даниэль Либескинд выступил с лекцией «Музеи: память, история, архитектура» в атриуме Главного штаба Государственного Эрмитажа.