St Petersburg Biennale of Museum Design3
09/11 – 19/12/2018
Whitney Museum of American Art. View from Gansevoort Street. Photographed by Ed Lederman, 2015
Whitney Museum of American Art. View from Gansevoort Street. Photographed by Ed Lederman, 2015

Donna De Salvo (USA)
Whitney Museum of American Art: New Building by Renzo Piano

17 October 2016 at 7 pm

Lecture Hall of the General Staff Building, the State Hermitage Museum

6/8 Dvortsovaya ploschad, St Petersburg

Donna De Salvo will be talking about of the Whitney Museum of American Art new building designed by Renzo Piano and new exhibition planning and curatorial strategy which both affirm Whitney’s role as the leading museum of modern and contemporary art of the United States.
Designed by the Pritzker Prize-winning architect Renzo Piano the Whitney Museum of American Art new building was opened on 1 May, 2015. The indoor and outdoor galleries approximately double the Whitney’s exhibition space and provide extraordinary possibilities for artists, curators, and audiences. It will enable Whitney to expand its pioneering special exhibitions – including the Museum’s signature Whitney Biennial – and to present all of its exhibitions in the context of the Museum’s most extensive installation of its unsurpassed collection of twentieth- and twenty-first-century American art. The Whitney includes several firsts for the Whitney – dedicated space for education programs in the Laurie M. Tisch Education Center; the multi-use, 170-seat Susan and John Hess Family Theater; and the Sondra Gilman Study Center for works on paper – as well as the flexible Kaufman Gallery for film, video, and performance; the state-of-the-art Bucksbaum, Learsy, Scanlan Conservation Center; and the Frances Mulhall Achilles Library.
Donna De Salvo is a Deputy Director for International Initiatives and Senior Curator at the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York. Donna De Salvo joined the Whitney in 2004 and was appointed the museum’s first Chief Curator in 2006, a position she held until 2015 when she assumed her current role. De Salvo is leading the museum’s efforts to consider American art in an expanded content, in addition to curating exhibitions and collection displays and pursing acquisitions into the collection, in part as a co-leader of the Whitney’s Painting and Sculpture committee. De Salvo was instrumental in the development and design of the new Whitney and led the curatorial team that organized America Is Hard to See. Most recently, she curated Open Plan: Michael Heizer and Open Plan: Steve McQueen. Presently, she is working on a thematic retrospective of the work of Andy Warhol.
The lecture is supported by the Trust for Mutual Understanding.
Registration is required.
Contacts: +7 812 233 0040, +7 812 233 0553
For press: press[at]proarte.ru

Петербургская биеннале музейного дизайна2
30/09 – 30/10/2016
Музей Американского искусства Уитни. Вид с Гансвурт-стрит. Фото Эда Ледэрмана, 2015
Музей Американского искусства Уитни. Вид с Гансвурт-стрит. Фото Эда Ледэрмана, 2015

Донна Де Салво (США)
Музей американского искусства Уитни: новый проект Ренцо Пьяно

17 октября 2016 в 19:00

Государственный Эрмитаж, Главный штаб, лекторий

Дворцовая площадь, д. 6/8

Донна Де Салво расскажет о новом здании Музея американского искусства Уитни, спроектированном Ренцо Пьяно, а также о новой выставочной стратегии музея, которая подтверждает его лидирующую позицию в представлении современного американского искусства.
Новое здание Музея американского искусства Уитни спроектировано обладателем Притцкеровской премии, архитектором Ренцо Пьяно. Его открытие состоялось 1 мая 2015. Выставочная площадь музея увеличилась почти вдвое, что открыло новые перспективы для художников, кураторов и для публики. Для музея – это возможность развития ключевого проекта – Биеннале Уитни, а также презентации непревзойденной коллекции американского искусства ХХ–ХХI вв., как признанных шедевров, так и актуальных провокационных работ. Кроме того, в музее появились образовательный центр, многофункциональный театр на 170 мест, мастерская для творчества на бумаге, галерея Кауфман для видеопоказов и перформансов, центр сохранения художественного наследия и библиотека.
Донна Де Салво (Donna De Salvo) – заместитель директора по международным связям и главный куратор Музея американского искусства Уитни (Нью-Йорк, США). Донна Де Салво присоединилась к команде Музея Уитни в 2004 году, в 2006 она была назначена главным куратором, а в 2015 году также стала заместителем директора по международным связям. Донна Де Салво отвечает за представление американского искусства в международных выставочных проектах, является куратором временных выставок из коллекции музея и со-руководителем Комитета по живописи и скульптуре Музея Уитни, в т.ч. отвечает за новые приобретения в коллекцию. Донна Де Салво сыграла важную роль в разработке проекта нового здания Музея Уитни, и она возглавила группу кураторов инаугурационной выставки «Америку постичь непросто» (America Is Hard to See) в новом здании музея, построенном по проекту Ренцо Пьано в районе Митпэкинг. Донна Де Салво была куратором выставок Майкла Хейзера и Стива МакКуина, в настоящее время работает над тематической ретроспективой Энди Уорхола.
Лекция проходит при поддержке Фонда Trust for Mutual Understanding.

Обязательна регистрация онлайн или по телефону (812) 233 0040
Лекция пройдет на английском языке с синхронным переводом. Желающих получить наушники просим приходить заранее и иметь при себе документ под залог.
Для прессы: press[at]proarte.ru