St Petersburg Biennale of Museum Design2
30/09 – 30/10/2016

New permanent exhibitions of the Numismatic Department: Money in the History of World Culture and Medal Art in 18th – early 20th century Russia

The Winter Palace

On April 22, 2016 the State Hermitage Museum opened two permanent exhibitions of the Numismatic Department: Money in the History of World Culture and Medal Art in 18th – early 20th century Russia presenting over six thousand exhibits. Money in the History of World Culture exhibition gives an overall picture of money circulation: from primitive means of exchange to modern day European currencies and plastic bank cards. The core of the Medal Art in 18th – early 20th century Russia exhibition – an exceptional selection of medals reflecting major events in Russian history – various awards, memorial tokens etc. allow the visitors to trace back the development of the art of medal-making in Russia; medal-making started in Russia under Peter I and his monetary reform in the early 18th century.

New open storage facilities of the Department of the Ancient World

The Staraya Derevnya Restoration and Storage Center

8 December 2015 marked the opening of five new exhibitions of the Department of the Ancient World on the second and third floors of the E-building, part of the Staraya Derevnya Restoration and Storage Centre: Ancient Architecture; Ancient Necropolis; Ancient Amphorae; Wooden Sarcophagi and Ancient Inscriptions displaying some 700 archaeological objects found on the territory of the Greek city-colonies in the Northern Black Sea region. Chronologically the exhibits of the new open storage facilities span the whole ancient period in the history of those settlements, from the 7th century BC to the 4th century AD.

Carl Fabergé Memorial Rooms

The General Staff Building

December 29, 2015 the Hermitage Museum unveiled Carl Fabergé Memorial Rooms – a new permanent display in the General Staff Building. The rooms present the legacy of one of Russia’s leading jewelry firms, founded by the famous Carl Fabergé, also showing how jewelry-making and lapidary art has developed with time and featuring works by contemporary craftsmen. The two permanent display rooms contain 110 exhibits, while in the third room is used for temporary exhibitions.

New gallery dedicated to the memory of Sergey Shchukin and Morozov brothers

The General Staff Building

In December 2014, to mark the Hermitage 250th anniversary, the museum opened new permanent displays in the General Staff Building. Recently restored rooms in the East Wing now house a new museum complex featuring 19th century painting, works by impressionists and post-impressionists from the famous Shchukin and Morozov collections, as well as collections of Russian and European applied art. The complex also boasts of special venues for contemporary art exhibitions, Imperial Guard Museum and Carl Fabergé Memorial Rooms. Refurbished areas also include historical interiors – state rooms of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Empire, private quarters of Chancellor Karl Nesselrode, and rooms that used to house Ministry of Finance.

Петербургская биеннале музейного дизайна2
30/09 – 30/10/2016

Новые экспозиции Отдела нумизматики «Деньги в истории мировой культуры» и «Медальерное искусство России XVIII – начала XX веков»

Зимний дворец, III этаж

22 апреля 2016 года в Государственном Эрмитаже открылись постоянные экспозиции Отдела нумизматики – «Деньги в истории мировой культуры» и «Медальерное искусство России XVIII — начала XX веков», на которых представлено более шести тысяч экспонатов. Экспозиция «Деньги в истории мировой культуры» знакомит с общей картиной развития денежного обращения — от примитивных денег до современной европейской валюты и пластиковых банковских карт. Основа постоянной экспозиции «Медальерное искусство России XVIII — начала XX веков» — исключительная по полноте подборка медалей на события русской истории — разнообразные награды, памятные знаки позволяют проследить этапы развития отечественного медальерного искусства, зарождение которого было связано с денежной реформой Петра I в начале XVIII века.

Новые открытые хранения Отдела Античного мира

Реставрационно-хранительский центр «Старая Деревня»

8 декабря 2015 года в Реставрационно-хранительском центре «Старая Деревня» Государственного Эрмитажа в залах третьего и четвертого этажей корпуса Е открылись пять новых экспозиций Отдела Античного мира: «Античная архитектура», «Античный некрополь», «Античные амфоры», «Деревянные саркофаги и ткани», «Античные надписи». Всего в залах представлено около 700 археологических памятников, найденных на территории греческих городов-колоний Северного Причерноморья. Хронологически экспонаты новых открытых хранений охватывают весь античный период истории этих городов – от VII века до нашей эры до IV века нашей эры.

Залы памяти Карла Фаберже

Главный штаб, 3 этаж, залы №№ 300, 301, 302

29 декабря 2015 года в Главном штабе состоялось открытие Залов памяти Карла Фаберже – новой постоянной экспозиции в Главном штабе. Здесь представлено наследие крупнейшей в России ювелирной фирмы, основанной знаменитым Карлом Фаберже, показано дальнейшее развитие ювелирного и камнерезного искусства, достижения современных мастеров. Два зала выделены под постоянную экспозицию, насчитывающую 110 предметов, один зал предназначен для проведения временных выставок.

Галерея памяти Сергея Щукина и братьев Морозовых

Главный штаб, 4 этаж, залы №№ 402-440

В декабре 2014 года к 250-летию Эрмитажа открылись постоянные экспозиции в Главном штабе. В отреставрированных залах Восточного крыла здания разместился новый музейный комплекс, где представлены живопись XIX столетия, картины импрессионистов и постимпрессионистов из знаменитых собраний С.И. Щукина и И.А. Морозова, коллекции русского и европейского декоративно-прикладного искусства. Здесь организованы специальные площади для показа современного искусства, Музея гвардии, а также залы памяти Карла Фаберже. В экспозиционную зону входят отреставрированные исторические интерьеры – парадные залы Министерства иностранных дел Российской Империи, личные апартаменты канцлера К.В. Нессельроде, помещения Министерства финансов.