St Petersburg Biennale of Museum Design3
09/11 – 19/12/2018

D_R_NEW_0448_RT_Crop-from-RG-DT-Group-Shot_sm

 

Biennale Educational Programme Participant

 

Richard Gluckman is an architect and partner of Gluckman Tang Architects (New York, USA). Since establishing his architectural practice in New York City in 1977, Richard Gluckman has occupied a special place in the world of art and design, creating distinctive spaces and buildings for artists, public arts institutions, art foundations, galleries and art collectors. Gluckman’s design approach is defined by an emphasis on architecture as an experiential opportunity; as a frame for art and human activity. The Gluckman Tang Architects has developed numerous projects including renovation and expansion of the Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum (New York, USA), restoration and six new buildings of the Picasso Museum in Málaga (Spain), renovation and expansion of the Perelman Building, Philadelphia Museum of Art (Philadelphia, USA), renovation of the Andy Warhol Museum (Pittsburgh, USA), design of the Sotheby’s, Gagosian, and Marlborough Chelsea galleries in New York, and Pace Gallery in Beijing (China).

 

In 2018 the Gluckman Tang Architects received American Architecture Award from the Chicago Athenaeum for the Pavilion Fe Marion – gallery housing sculpture and drawings by Walter De Maria in Bridgehampton (New York, USA). In 2017 the Pavilion De Maria was recognized by the American Institute of Architecture (AIANY), and the Global Contemporary Art Museum – by the Chicago Athenaeum Award. In 2015 renovation and expansion of the Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum was awarded the Lucy Moses Preservation Project Award, New York Landmarks Conservancy.

 

Richard Gluckman has been a visiting critic and lecturer at Harvard University, Yale University, University of Pennsylvania, Parsons The New School for Design, Pratt Institute, and Syracuse University. He has served on the boards of The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts and the Van Alen Institute. He currently serves on the board of Socrates Sculpture Park.

 

Gluckman received a Bachelor of Architecture and a Master of Architecture from Syracuse University’s School of Architecture. He received the George Arents Award from Syracuse University in 2006, and he was Chair of the University’s School of Architecture Advisory Board from 2003 to 2014.

 

On 1 October 2018 Richard Gluckman delivers The Diagram of the Museum lecture at the General Staff Building of the State Hermitage Museum.

Петербургская биеннале музейного дизайна3
09/11 – 19/12/2018

D_R_NEW_0448_RT_Crop-from-RG-DT-Group-Shot_sm

 

Участник образовательной программы Биеннале 2018

 

Ричард Глакман – архитектор, партнер бюро Gluckman Tang (Нью-Йорк, США). Он основал архитектурную практику в 1977 году, и более 40 лет создает пространства и здания для музеев, галерей, художественных институций, фондов культуры и искусства, художников и коллекционеров. Подход Ричарда Глакмана ставит акцент на архитектуре как возможности для эксперимента. Среди работ бюро – редизайн и расширение Смитсоновского музея дизайна Купер Юит (Нью-Йорк, США), реконструкция главного здания и строительство шести новых корпусов Музея Пикассо в Малаге (Испания), реставрация и расширение здания Перельман Филадельфийского художественного музея (США), реконструкция Музея Энди Уорхола в Питтсбурге (США), дизайн галерей Sotheby’s, Gagosian и Marlborough в Нью-Йорке, Pace в Пекине и др.

 

В 2018 году Gluckman Tang получили Американскую архитектурную премию Chicago Athenaeum за Pavilion De Maria – галерею скульптур и графики Уолтера де Марии (Бриджхэмптон, Нью-Йорк, США). В 2017 году этот проект был отмечен премией в области дизайна Американского института архитектуры штата Нью-Йорк. Премией Chicago Athenaeum 2017 года был также отмечен проект Музея всемирного современного искусства. В 2015 году проект редизайна и расширения Смитсоновского музея дизайна Купер Юитт получил премию Lucy Moses Preservation Award.

 

Ричард Глакман – приглашенный лектор университетов Гарварда, Йеля, Новой школы дизайна Парсонс, Института Пратта и Сиракузского университета. Член правления Скульптурного парка «Сократ» в Нью-Йорке, член жюри конкурсов и премий в области дизайна и архитектуры.

 

Ричард Глакман получил степень бакалавра и магистра архитектуры в Школе архитектуры Сиракузского университета (Нью-Йорк, США). Лауреат премии Джорджа Арентса (2006), присуждаемой выпускникам университета за выдающиеся достижения. В 2003-2014 Глакман возглавлял Консультативный совет Школы архитектуры Сиракузского университета.

 

1 октября 2018 Ричард Глакман прочтет лекцию о музейной архитектуре в Главном штабе Государственного Эрмитажа.