St Petersburg Biennale of Museum Design3
09/11 – 19/12/2018

Anna Trofimova

Anna Trofimova

Participant of the Biennale 2016: curator of the new expositions of the Department of the Ancient World at the Staraya Derevnya Restoration and Storage Centre of the State Hermitage.

Art historian Anna Trofimova was born in Leningrad; graduate of the Department of Art History, Leningrad State University (now – St. Petersburg State University), PhD in Art History; she is currently the Head of the Department of Classical Antiquities in the State Hermitage Museum. Anna Trofimova has developed the concept for the Department display and exhibition projects and headed the reconstruction program for the permanent display at the Department of Classical Antiquities in the State Hermitage (1998-2014), when twenty galleries were renovated to house the new version of the display. Anna Trofimova is an author of articles on re-exposition and restoration of historical museum interiors. As an expert on Hellenistic Art and Greek and Roman portrait she has made a journey following Alexander the Great’s trail and wrote a book on how the portraits of the Macedonian tzar had influence the art of the Hellenistic Age. (Imitatio Alexandri, St. Petersburg, Rome, 2012). Curator of the exhibitions: The Immortal Alexander the Great: The Myth. The Reality. His Journey. His Legacy (State Hermitage Museum, 2007; Amsterdam, 2010; Sydney, 2012); Greeks on the Black Sea. Ancient Art from the Hermitage (J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles, 2007); Antony Gormley. Still Standing. A Contemporary Intervention in the Classical Collection (State Hermitage Museum, 2011).
Lectures: St. Petersburg University, European University, Metropolitan Museum (New York), the Fitzwilliam Museum (Cambridge), J. Paul Getty Museum (Los Angeles), University of Lausanne, Macquarie University (Sydney), Albert Ludwig University of Freiburg.
Anna Trofimova is President of the Board of the non-profit Culture and Education Development Foundation.
Guests of the St. Petersburg Biennale of Museum Design-2014 were invited to visit permanent display of the Department of Classical Antiquities in the State Hermitage that had been renovated under Anna Trofimova’s supervision.

Петербургская биеннале музейного дизайна2
30/09 – 30/10/2016

Anna Trofimova

Анна Трофимова

Участник Биеннале 2016: куратор новых экспозиций Отдела Античного мира в Реставрационно-хранительском центре «Старая Деревня» Государственного Эрмитажа.

Анна Алексеевна Трофимова родилась в Ленинграде, окончила кафедру истории искусства исторического факультета Ленинградского Государственного Университета. Историк искусства, заведующая отделом Античного мира Государственного Эрмитажа, кандидат искусствоведения. Автор концепции, разработчик экспозиционных проектов и руководитель Программы реконструкции постоянной экспозиции античного искусства Государственного Эрмитажа (1998 — 2014), в рамках которой проведена реконструкция двадцати галерей. Автор публикаций о реэкспозиции и реставрации исторических музейных интерьеров. Специалист по эллинистическому искусству, античному портрету. Совершила путешествие по следам Восточного похода Александра Македонского, написала книгу о влиянии портретов македонского царя на искусство эпохи эллинизма (“Imitatio Alexandri”, СПб, Рим, 2012). Куратор выставок «Александр Великий. Путь на Восток» (Санкт-Петербург, 2007; Амстердам, 2010, Сидней, 2012), «Греки на Черном море. Античное искусство из Эрмитажа» (музей Поля Гетти, Лос Анжелес, 2007). «Энтони Гормли. Во весь рост. Античная и современная скульптура» (Санкт-Петербург, 2011).
Выступала с лекциями в Университете и музее Фицвиллиам в Кембридже, в Метрополитен музее, Университете Макуори (Сидней), Университете Антрополь (Лозанна), Фрайбургском университете. Председатель Правления некоммерческой организации «Фонд развития культуры и образования».
На Биеннале 2014 как руководитель и автор концепции «Программы реконструкции постоянной экспозиции Отдела Античного мира Государственного Эрмитажа» представила обновленную экспозицию античного искусства в залах Нового Эрмитажа.